Upcycling- a memory quilt with a Bernina walking foot

3 Sep

A few months ago I was asked  to construct a quilt for a client to remind her of her mother through the clothing.  I found it quite demanding using different weights and fabric constructions-also cutting pieces out from various garments.  Would it work out and look well? I wasn’t able to press the seams open and as some of the pieces were fairly thick I used a polyester wadding to hopefully reduce the overall weight.  I’m adding a picture to show the progress that I’ve made.  It’s nearly finished and I’m pleased.  I just need to make a fairly wide binding to cope with the thickness and also balance the quilt.  The Bernina walking foot certainly helped with  the fabric disparity and bulk.

The next stage is to add the binding which will neaten the edges. I am pleased with how the different fabrics settle well together and have a balanced appearance.

Leave a Reply

