New Buxton Sewing Classes

1 Sep

This is the note I sent out a few days ago about my next classes.  Tomorrow I’ll take a picture of a quilt in progress that is in memory of my client’s mother.  It has been challenging but I’m quite pleased with the result.

 

Just a note to let you know about the sewing classes this Autumn in Buxton. 
The regular classes will be on a Monday evening and Friday morning.  
 
I am very pleased to have sorted out an after school class for teenagers and this will take place on a Monday night at the end of school but in the town. Another new venture is going to be a regular drop in session. This will enable mending and altering clothes to be done -but in particular looking at children’s clothes with the possibility of making from a pattern.  These 2 activities will come under the heading of Sewing with Helen and so these hopefully will be interesting and exciting ventures.
  
  • Monday evening-St Ann’s Community rooms-7.00-9.00 starting 10th September for 6 weeks -£55
  • Friday morning – Buxton Methodist Church -10.00-12.00 starting 7th September for 6 weeks -£55
 
  • Monday after school group- St Ann’s Community rooms- 3.35ish-4.30+ starting 10th September-£3
  • Tuesday drop in session- St Ann’s Community rooms-the 2 hours before school pick up time – tbc-£3
 
I am working on many aspects of these classes at present and plan to have a balance of activities.  Please let me know if you would like to attend or if you would like to do something.  I have had several requests for initial lessons ie the basics to gain confidence.  Again I need to know what people would like to do, so that I can group together people with particular needs.  I am currently investigating an attractive venue to hold some day groups.
 
If you would like to attend either the Friday morning or Monday night, as I need to take deposits for these, then let me know and I’ll send you payment details.  It is possible to break the payment into smaller amounts. There will be a waiting list brought into operation.
 
I hope that I’ve explained everything!  Do let me know!
8 Responses to “New Buxton Sewing Classes”

  1. Ruti Worrall February 20, 2013 at 8:48 am #

    Hi,
    I live in Whaley Bridge and I am interested in having some sewing lessons. Do you do private individual lessons? Can you give me an idea of prices for individual lessons as well as for Friday’s class?
    Many thanks,
    Ruti Worrall

    • helenjagger March 3, 2013 at 11:12 am #

      Hello Ruti
      I’ve just returned from New Zealand hence the delay in responding to you. Yes I do a regular Monday evening and friday morning class. These cover learning at different levels from beginners to further on in small friendly groups. I can also do a private individual lesson too. My e-mail is he_jagger@yahoo.co.uk and that’s the best way of contacting me.
      Thanks for your enquiry.
      Helen

      • helenjagger April 10, 2013 at 4:51 pm #

        Hello Ruti
        Did I give you sufficient information? Perhaps you need the costs? I charge £40 for 4 weeks but if you’re not able to attend then you don’t pay for that week and then it continues on. Helen

      • helenjagger February 23, 2014 at 9:51 pm #

        I’m going to be teaching an evening class at the College soon. This is organised by Buxton and Leek College. I can let you have contact details
        Helen

  2. Jo Galvin April 3, 2013 at 12:43 pm #

    Hi Helen
    I am very interested in taking sewing lessons. I like the idea of your Friday am class, in Buxton beginnng in Sept., unfortunately I am away the 2nd 3rd week of Sept.Is there any way I could make up these classes, Buxton is about as far as I can manage as I live in Glossop. Do you have any plans for summer?

    kindest regrds

    Jo

    • helenjagger April 10, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

      I am regularly holding classes in Buxton during term time and am planning some day workshops in the near future. It is an ongoing activity and I welcome people to join and take part. Monday evening 7.00 till 9.00 and Friday morning 10.00 til 12.00 are my Regular Threads classes and then I have a monthly mend, alter and repair afternoon on the 2nd Tuesday of the month. I am also running an after school class for young people. I hope this helps. Let me know if I can help more.

  3. Nicola Barnes February 20, 2014 at 8:51 pm #

    Do you still do sewing lessons?

    • helenjagger February 23, 2014 at 9:46 pm #

      Hello Nicola
      I’ve just put a couple of posts up with you in mind to explain what I’m doing. I hope that this helps to clarify the classes. I was quiet in the Autumn, for family reasons, and now hope to get lots of people sewing!

Leave a Reply

